Writing from the heart

heart

I have always been an open book about my life – until a few years ago.  At some point, I was going through private struggles and started feeling embarrassed to be vulnerable to really share my innermost feelings on many things- when writing it used to be therapy for me.   I think that having been hurt, I was afraid to be hurt again.  To expose my soft inner belly again was a scary thing.

This refusal to open up led to me feeling that my posts were too shallow, and I felt no real desire to continue writing in my blog much.  Every time I did, it just felt like it was missing something.    So for a while, I was posting maybe once a month on my blog…then it slowly turned into once per YEAR –  And I used to post 2-3 times a day!

Yet, bottling up my thoughts day after day was also very hard for me. I desired to write about everything, to express those feelings, and to share my experiences with other people….and still do.

So I have decided that I am going to open up and be vulnerable again.  No longer will my insecurities determine the content of my writing.  I will write straight from the heart and hopefully touch other hearts in the process.  I know I am not the only one who feels the way I do on a number of things!

Have you ever gone through this in your life? Let me know your thoughts about your struggles that you have dealt with when it comes to expressing yourself to others.

4 thoughts on “Writing from the heart

  1. ladeebugg65

    I wrote this a moment ago but guess it got lost–I forgot that I had a Word Press Acct under Ladeebugg65. I wanted to comment on your post–yes I lived for many year until recently I found that I could laugh out loud at funny things on TV I live alone so no one hears me but my pets–it is a joy to be alive–I will be 71 in a couple weeks. I am happy that you found your ‘voice’ again while you are young and in the Christian community you have so much to bring to the table–God has given gifts to all who belong to Him–He has definitely gifted you!!!!—my gift is recognizing those who are gifted!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bethany Post author

      Thank you so much for your wonderfully encouraging thoughts! I’m so glad to “meet” you. I know you are probably a blessing to everyone you come across.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Melissa D

    Yep yep. I totally understand. Seemed every time I shared on my blog my thoughts on anything *boom* I was met with naysayers, hateful/hurtful responses, etc. The Internet allows so much anonymity people feel they can say whatever they want uncensored. People have such strong feelings about seemingly everything. What started as me wanting to help other mommy’s out/give encouragement turned into a debate class where I had to defend everything I said. Not cool. Not sure if that’s why you stopped blogging– but that’s why I did. I don’t share hardly anything personal anymore. I switched to a private blog that’s only open to close friends & family and you *have* to have a login name so I know who is commenting. Can’t stand anonymity and the freedom to verbally vomit it gives people. Ok. Enough of my rant. LOL. I applaud you for bring brave and opening up again on a blog. Maybe someday I’ll be brave enough to join you in the blog-world. I LOVE to write but I hate having to defend my every entry. :-/

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bethany Post author

      You are right on the money, Melissa! It is so true that anonymity makes it so easy for others to express some really hurtful statements… Also, being on the internet I think somehow makes them forget you’re a human with feelings. I think if you told people the same things in a real life setting, they would never dare day some of the things they do on the internet. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Let me know your thoughts!

