A Little Faith – (repost from 2010)

Here is another post from my old blog. The post is dated January 14, 2010, and was written as I was going through a very difficult time in my life.  I hope it will bring encouragement to anyone else who is going through something in their life today.


o-ye-of-little-faith
A Little Faith

“Oh ye of little faith”.

This is a statement that was said frequently of Jesus to His disciples.  Isn’t it amazing to think that people who were there with Jesus in person….watching Him raise people from the dead, seeing him turn 5 loaves and 2 fishes into enough to feed a multitude of thousands, watching him heal the lame and the blind…and still, they were called “ye of little faith”.

It is incredible to think that these people actually witnessed these things and saw Jesus Himself, and still doubted.  They still had fears. They still had worries.   Jesus had to frequently remind them not to worry, and to have faith.   We may think that these people of all people should have had more faith than anyone, but they were only human, just like us.

What is it about us humans that makes it so difficult for us to trust and believe in God?  Why do we have such a hard time believing His promises, and why is it so easy for us to forget the good things He has accomplished in our lifetime?

Many times, I see myself as being like Peter, who walked on the water for a while, and then sank because he found fear.    As long as He kept His eyes on Christ, and focused his faith on Him, he was able to ignore the waves of the sea and stood directly on the surface of the water, and walked on it!

Peter was walking towards Jesus, and can you imagine what it was like to realize that you are literally standing on top of water, and not sinking?  No doubt, there were many tremendous thoughts going through his head at the time.

His thoughts were on Jesus and Jesus alone at first, and Peter had FAITH that he could make it to Jesus.  He felt so strong and faithful and knew that God would help him get across the waters.

Unfortunately, Peter’s thoughts drifted, and he found himself fearing the waves of the sea.  He realized what a dangerous position he was in, and how easy he could sink and die in the water!

As soon as Peter lost faith, and turned his face from Jesus, he began to sink.

But Jesus didn’t forsake him because of his little faith.   Peter cried out, “Lord, save me!”    After he did this, Jesus immediately reached out His hand and took Peters, and pulled him out of the water.

I have seen myself in a very similar predicament.   I will feel so confident and faithful after going through a trial, knowing that God will deliver me and bring good through my situation.  I feel like I am running out to meet Jesus in the water, walking on top of it without fear.

However, then my humanly weak thoughts will trail off and I will begin realizing all of the troubles that I am dealing with, and I will fear that I cannot make it. I will take my eyes off of Jesus, and start putting my eyes on the troubles instead.   Then, I begin to sink, just like Peter did.

It is at those times that I have to pray to God, “Lord, save me! I’m sinking! Lord, please give me the strength to get through this. I can’t do it without you!”

Jesus will always pull us out of the troubles (Maybe not by removing the problem itself, but will bring us closer to him) when we call on Him.    He knows that we are only human, and that our faith is not perfect.    He doesn’t give up on us when we are weak.  He pulls us out of our troubles and comforts us.  He gives us new strength to go on again.

God can use us, even if we have “a little faith”.   We only need faith the size of a mustard seed in order to move mountains!     I hope this will encourage you today!

Let me know your thoughts!

