Single mom abandoned by her husband talks about how she found joy

This blog post will use pseudonyms to protect the identities of the people involved.


daily071713a

When I was in the fifth grade, I became friends with a girl named Grace.

At that time, I guess you could say I was sort of a misfit in school.  Grace wasn’t in the same grade as me, but when we would eat lunch together sometimes I would see her and we would sit together and talk.  She had a lot of struggles with finding good friends as well…so because of our similar situations, we became friends during that time.

I was only in that school for one year, so I didn’t see Grace again for several years. I finally saw her again at a high school reunion in 2007. I was thrilled to see she had gotten married and had a cute little baby. She seemed so happy.  However, a few years later, I found that their marriage had fallen apart, and for the last few years I have seen Grace struggle much through the grief, the loneliness, the rejection…but yet I have also seen her come through with a peace and joy that is very inspiring. Because of this, I decided to ask her to share her story here, to hopefully encourage someone else who has been in her shoes!

Here is her story.


Grace is my name. I’ve needed much grace in my life. Here is why….

I was raised in a Christian home, church, and school, and accepted Jesus at the age of 13. I never really deepened my relationship with my Savior, so when temptations and trials came, I turned to worldly influences instead of Godly ones.

I graduated high school, then went to a Christian college for a short time. My main motivation for attending college was finding “Mr. Right”, but when that didn’t happen I gave up. I came home, got a job, and started my relationship with the World. I made many decisions that I wish I could take back, but God’s Grace through it all was very evident, now looking back to those years of rebellion.

I met my son’s Father along the way. We dated for several months before marrying… I was in love! I just knew he was the one.  I had so many plans for making our marriage, family, and home wonderful.  However, somewhere along the way the road took a drastically different turn. Words were being said, objects were being thrown, and the emotional and mental abuse were overwhelming.

IMG_3443-0

My family was trying to help me, but the closer I got to them, the more my husband tugged back. The confusion, the humiliation, the depression was getting to me. I needed relief. A short time later, my husband decided to move away. Soon, I received the devastating news that he was being unfaithful.  I had suspected something was not right, but I did not want to believe it. My entire world was turned upside down. My dreams of a fulfilling marriage, a happy home, and a godly family had gone up in smoke! He eventually asked for a divorce, so I reluctantly gave it to him on the grounds of adultery.

The loneliness that ensued -the hurt, the betrayal, the feelings of being abandoned by the man I loved – it was overwhelming to me.  I felt so angry.  Why me?, I would ask myself time and time again. 

IMG_3442

Looking back on that time, I realize that God had His hand in everything the whole time- He was there orchestrating comfort with every hurt, supplying peace with every angry moment, and so much more.

My Father rescued me like His Word says in Psalm 40:2 “He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.” I can’t adequately express how my wonderful Heavenly Father has helped me through these years after my divorce. It leaves me in awe at the love He shows to me, as undeserving as I am! He has put joy into my heart! The joy that I have can be described with this verse in God’s Word: Romans 15:13 “Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.”

My Peace is my Savior. He has taught me much, has taken me through many “refining times” to make me look more like Him, and has NEVER left me or condemned me for my mistakes. Even with the consequences of my bad decisions, I never lost my Heavenly Father’s love for me. Praise God for undeserving love and grace!

Life has trials – I have learned that we have to get used to that. Being a child of God does not mean that we are not going to have trouble; it means that when the trouble comes, we have a Shield, a Strength, a Father that will help us through those times, and for that I am eternally grateful.

My inspirational book is the Word of God, the Holy Bible. It teaches much about how to live this life, how to get through trials, and how to be a Christian. Another book that has helped me along my road is Elizabeth George’s, “A Woman After God’s Own Heart”. 
I also have a host of “living books” in my friends from my wonderful church that have cared for me, showed love and guidance, wisdom, etc. One lady in particular at my church encouraged me through my divorce, gave me great Bible verses to lean on, and was a great example of what a Godly single Mother should be. I am very thankful for her friendship.

IMG_3444

One of my greatest desires is that one day soon I will be married to a Godly man that leads our family in the right way and direction, who helps me raise my son to be a mighty man for God.

The joy I have today wouldn’t have been possible if it weren’t for God in my heart and life. His unconditional love in the hard times (and the good) is indescribable!  If you do not know Him as your Savior, I invite you to become part of the Family of God. God sent Jesus to Earth to be the sacrifice for our sins. All have sinned and come short of God’s glory (Romans 3:23), and Jesus had to be that payment for our sin because only a perfect sacrifice could pay it. Jesus invites you to lay your sin down at his nail-scarred feet and pick up a white robe of righteousness that you can have when you confess your sin to Him and accept Him as Lord. I hope you have made that decision to become a child of the King. It is a decision you will never regret!

May God bless each and every one of you. May God show peace to you, along with His overwhelming LOVE!!


I plan to post about one inspiring person on a regular basis. If you or someone you know has a story to share, please contact me and I will consider using it!

2 thoughts on “Single mom abandoned by her husband talks about how she found joy

  1. Jessica

    I wanted to let you know that I am 35 with a similar story. I married right out of high school and a year later found out we were expecting a daughter. Verbal and emotional abuse. Fast forward three years and he left telling me he did not want to be married to me anymore. I begged and pleaded. He didn’t even care. Just told me he didn’t want to be accountable to me anymore. Of course then I learned what I had really deep down known for at least a year–that he had been cheating on me. So my 3 year old daughter and I were abandoned. Another many years later now and I can tell you that it is the best thing to happen to my daughter and I. When people tell me that divorce is wrong no matter what I just blow it off. You cant make someone stay married to you! And what an unhappy home that was and what a bad example he was to her. She was also verbally and emotionally abused by him. I thought I would never ever find a good Christian man to love my daughter and I. And yet here I am remarried. And we just celebrated our 9 year anniversary. I met him at church 🙂 I just wanted you to know that I know how it feels to be left high and dry. I know how it feels to be suddenly cast out. I applaud your bravery in telling your story. You’re doing awesome, Mama!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Bethany Post author

    Jessica, Grace asked me to relay this message back to you: “God bless you, Jessica! Thank you for your response and bravery to tell YOUR story.” 🙂 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts!

