Trying a starvation diet for 10 days

I was researching diabetes articles the other day (something I do a lot), and came across this article of a man, Richard Doughty, who claimed that he reversed his diabetes in 11 days by going on a starvation diet.

From the article:

The theory behind the diet, which is the brainchild of Roy Taylor, professor of medicine and metabolism at Newcastle University, is based on the fact that type 2 diabetes is often caused by fat clogging up the liver and pancreas, which are crucial in producing insulin and controlling blood sugar.

This is why weight gain is such a risk factor for the condition, particularly if that weight is carried around the belly and abdomen. However, there are some unfortunate people like myself who seem to be disposed to accumulating fat in the liver and pancreas, despite being a healthy weight.

Professor Taylor’s studies have shown that drastic dieting causes the body to go into starvation mode and burn fat stores for energy — and the fat around the organs seems to be targeted first.

This leads to the liver and pancreas becoming unclogged, and insulin and blood sugar levels returning to normal.


I felt this might be just the case with me, and if it was, then it made sense to go on this diet for a short  time.

I did some more reading up on the issue and, after asking James and seeing what he thought (wanted to be sure I wasn’t going something totally crazy), decided I was going to try for 10 days of this diet.

I went to buy myself a protein smoothie mix, which was unsweetened. The taste was terrible. I couldn’t get it down. So I decided I was going to get all my nutrients from homemade bone broth only, plus maybe some green vegetables (so that I have enough nutrients and minerals from those alone).

I also decided to monitor my blood glucose levels throughout the process.

Yesterday was my first day on the diet. My fasting blood sugar when I awakened was 145 mg/dl. This is sadly typical. Sometimes it’s higher.

diabetes_fastingtable

I had one bowl of turkey broth in the morning, and it was delicious. I didn’t have anything else for the next few hours, except a bottle of water. At about 1:00 PM, I was already feeling lightheaded, dizzy, and had a headache. I think that is partially due to caffeine withdrawals (I drink a lot of coffee). At this point, I tested and saw that my blood sugar was 97 mg/dl. Very good, for me at least (not for a non-diabetic though).

I laid down and instantly fell asleep for about 30 minutes. I was awakened by Bobby pinching my nose with his fingers. I was still so groggy. And this is just day one!

I thought to myself, if it’s this hard in one day, how will I possibly do this for 10 days? I started rethinking my plan, but looked at websites that let me know what to expect to feel like. I was determined to continue. I drank another bottle of water.

At about 1:30 PM I had a cup of broth again. I had to visit the restroom much more frequently since I was consuming so much liquid.

At suppertime, I ate some curried chicken soup with cauliflower and broccoli in it. About an hour later, I was so tired I could barely keep my eyes open, and I got jittery and shaky. Because of this, I tested my blood sugar, and it was 83 mg/dl. Apparently, for me, that number was low enough to produce some of  the effects of hypoglycemia (probably because my body is accustomed to the higher levels). I chewed on a piece of gum and the feeling went away. I went to bed, fell asleep almost instantly.

This morning, I felt totally fine. I didn’t even feel hungry. My blood sugar was 107 mg/dl, much lower than it has been in the morning in a very, very long time. In fact, I don’t remember it ever being that low, when I was gestational diabetic or during the last year or so. So that is really a great thing to see.

I’ll post an update after today is over, to let you know what happens. I’m excited to see what the effect will be on my overall glucose levels.

Read about day two here.

Let me know your thoughts!

