Day five of my “starvation” diet- halfway there!

This morning, I woke up and checked my blood sugar. Expecting to see a result of over 100 mg/dl, I was floored to have a NORMAL glucose level- 74 mg/dl! Success!

IMG_3734.JPG

It’s the first time since I began testing myself that I have ever seen it go that low. I don’t want it to go lower, obviously… 74 is good. I want to maintain this.

I ate a rich bowl of beef bone broth for breakfast.

Just a little info on bone broth: the reason I am using it is because it is nutrient dense, full of magnesium, selenium, manganese, calcium, glucosamine, chondritin, hyaluronic acid, collagen, and gelatin. And those are more absorbable than if you take them in pill form. It has amino acids like glycine and proline which you can’t get in the muscle meat. It is full of good fats. It contains vitamins A,C, D, E,K, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, folate, pantothenic acid, choline, and beatine.

That isn’t even all of what bone broth has in it… It’s a great health food that can help you heal. So I don’t feel like I am truly starving, when I am consuming this when hungry. My body is getting plenty of nutrients and is being allowed a period of recovery and rest.

Here is a link to a recipe for bone broth.

I wanted to mention another reason that I started this temporary fast/diet.
For the first several months this year, my fingertips looked like most peoples. This is a picture from March of this year of my fingers:

IMG_3732.PNG

A few months ago, I started noticing these strange crevices in my ring finger on my left hand. It felt like my fingertip was covered in superglue. I thought maybe I had actually come into contact with superglue somehow… However, after a week passed by, it was still having this problem, and unfortunately, it grew to be a bit worse. I decided to wait and see if it went away. After a month, I got concerned. Here is what it looked like:

IMG_2982.JPG

Another month passed, and it had spread to a few more fingers, and also was on the palm of my hand. It gets hard, sort of like a callous, wrinkled… And no amount if moisturizer has helped. In fact , the moisturizer only helps emphasize the crevices:

IMG_3721.JPG

If this were on all of my fingers, I would assume I was dehydrated… But it’s not. It’s only on certain fingers. I waited one month to be able to get a dermatologist appointment, only to be told I had eczema and told I would basically just have to deal with it and moisturize. I asked if there was an underlying cause, and I was told no, it’s just the result of getting older and you don’t have a many lipids. Something like that.

That is not a satisfactory answer to me. The majority of elderly people I know do not have this problem. I’m only 34. I do not for a second believe it’s merely the result of aging alone. I believe there is an underlying cause and I do hope that possibly I will see something change while fasting. Fasting is supposed to help things like eczema and psoriasis… So I hope that maybe a side effect of the diet will be that these things go away. If not, I’ll keep researching and find something else.

Now I have digressed quite a bit, so let me get back on track. 🙂

I went grocery shopping with the kids today and by 11:24 I tested my sugar again. It was 81. I felt perfectly fine. The grocery store had a stand outside where they were cooking rib sandwiches. I smelled it, it smelled awesome but I didn’t feel like I needed it, like I normally would. I just walked right past and it didn’t bother me at all. So weird!

I got home, helped put all the groceries away, then ate a small salad with Italian dressing and half a bowl of broth with a few pieces of cauliflower, onion, and celery in it. I didn’t feel like I needed the whole bowl, oddly!

I tested my blood sugar immediately after eating and it said 67 mg/dl. I was shocked! So I decided to do a retest… Surely that couldn’t be right, I thought. Tested again and it was 81 mg/dl. Phew! Thank goodness. Those tests aren’t always accurate.

All day, I was feeling really, really well physically. Better than usual. I couldn’t believe I felt so great after nearly 5 full days of this!

My blood sugar stayed in the 70’s level for the next few hours. I chewed gum anytime I felt a little bit hungry.

At around 5:00 I ate a bowl of spicy beef bone broth. It’s now 6:30 and my blood sugar is 89 mg/dl. 🙂 I will update more later.

Read about day 6 here.

2 thoughts on “Day five of my “starvation” diet- halfway there!

  1. Pingback: Day four of my “starvation” diet | Happy to be called mommy

  2. summer

    Did you ever get to the bottom of the wrinkled fingers problem? I have the same thing on 2 of my fingers and have been to 2 different doctors who suggest lotion. Not helping! Any information you have would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts!

