Post “starvation diet” results

To say I’m discouraged would be an understatement.

I have learned some things through this, so it’s not a total loss, but I am disheartened at my body’s failure to work properly.

I realize it’s the result of damage over the years (of which I wasn’t aware at the time, because I was following the government recommended rules) but that doesn’t make it easier.

Yesterday, when I decided to stop the diet on day 8, I went to Hardee’s and got a low carb thick burger for myself. At the time, I had a blood sugar of about 71 mg/dl.

The low carb thick burger contains a total of about 3 carbs (probably the condiments and tomato contribute to that mostly insignificant number).

I got my kids one taquito each (they had already eaten, but I’m sure you know how hard it is to eat alone with kids in the car with you if you’re a parent).

I still felt hungry after eating the burger and there was one extra taquito, so I ate it. Taquitos are 13 carbs each. Not too bad, I thought. Surely this won’t be too much for my body to handle. Especially after going without sugar for 8 days.

When I got home, I tested my blood sugar. It was somewhere around 116 mg/dl. About an hour later, after me walking around a while, it was 126. *sad face, shoulders slumped*

After seeing blood sugars consistently in the 70’s for the past few days, I was pretty discouraged to see the number go that high.

Before I continue, I need to mention that when I first ate, it took 30 minutes before I felt like I had eaten anything at all. That was strange. I guess it took my body time to realize the food was there.

But after that time, I felt all of my energy levels return. I again felt like my normal self (it was awesome!), and had enough energy to do all the normal things I usually do again. It was like the difference of night and day how I felt physically. So feeling good = my blood sugar is higher apparently.

I tried lifting light weights for about 10 minutes, because I read that building muscle helps regulate glucose levels. Before I went to bed, I ate two fried eggs. My blood sugar level was 101. Better, but not great.

I woke up with a sensation of being super hungry. I knew what this meant, because I’ve felt it many times before. I leaned over and told James that I just knew my blood glucose must be high because of how hungry I felt.

Sure enough, when I pricked my finger and tested my blood, it was 137.

I cried.

It was so discouraging.

I resolved to not eat any more carbs except less than 5 grams per meal (things like tomatoes and onions, even carrots inevitably have this small amount in them). I will be on a strict ketogenic diet. I will do strength training to hopefully help build muscle and regulate my blood sugar levels.

I found out something that completely took me by surprise two days ago. The diabetes that my father has and my grandfather had, were not type 2, but type 1.
(If I had studied more about type 1, I might have figured it out… But I was always busy researching type 2, since the majority of diabetes patients are type 2).

This means that my odds of being type 1 are pretty high. I always assumed I would be type 2, and it never before occurred to me I might be type 1.

And that may be the very reason this diet failed me.

Someone with type 2 diabetes is still producing insulin, but is insulin resistant. Diet can control it.

Someone with type 1 (an autoimmune disease) doesn’t produce insulin anymore, or doesn’t produce enough. They generally have to go on insulin to survive. Diet cannot control it, but can only improve it (from the little I know at this time).

So I will be setting up an appointment with an endocrinologist to have a blood test to let me know which type I have.

13 thoughts on “Post “starvation diet” results

  1. angelinn

    13 grams of carbs is nearly 3 times what is in your bloodstream, so the meter would indeed rocket. If it stayed high you would be type 1, your fasting BG levels say you aren’t a diabetic.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Blessed Homemaking

    Hi Bethany! I’m so sorry you’re going through this! I have researched health and nutrition for many years. I am wondering if you’ve ever heard of Trim Healthy Mama? (NOT that you need to lose weight–you don’t). But it shows you how to eat so that you can help you body with blood sugar problems. I hope you’ll look into it, and I sure will be praying for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bethany Post author

      Im surprised how many people have recommended that book. I will definitely get it sometime. I do have a feeling it will still be a bit too high carb for me… I think i need to be as close to 0 as possible. 🙂 But maybe some of the recipes will be good like that!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Wendy McCullough

        THM, to put it simply, is plan that uses carb cycling. I know a lot of women who like it. I am so used to LCHF that I don’t see us ever going THM. But even if you didn’t use THM exclusively their LCHF phase (S meal) recipes would definitely be useful to you. 🙂

        Dr. Bernstein’s plan has you under 30 total carbs a day plus protein intake is moderated. Protein is known to spike blood glucose levels in those who are extra sensitive to carbohydrates. I think that we get into trouble saying “no carbs” when really low carb eating can include non starchy veggies and moderate amounts of fruit, dairy, seeds, and nuts, depending on personal tolerance levels. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Bethany Post author

        Yes youre right… I didnt literally mean no carbs, but basically “as low as i can to prevent blood sugar spikes”. I really love carbs but they dont love me back. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wendy McCullough

    I was wondering if maybe you were a type 1 and not a type 2, with your body type and all. In case you haven’t already, I recommend that you do more research on type 1.5 diabetes, aka Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults (LADA)
    http://www.yourwellness.com/2013/01/all-about-adult-onset-type-1-diabetes/

    I highly recommend that you read Dr. Richard Bernstein’s book. He is a type 1 who manages his blood sugars primarily with diet and minimal insulin. You can find excerpts of it online. I highly recommend that you read the food guidelines. It was a life saver when I found out about DH’s type 1 diabetes diagnosis. Things like peanut butter, tomatoes, cottage cheese, and carrots make DH’s blood sugar sky rocket. Those things are so-called low-carb but are not usually tolerated by a diabetic, especially type 1s. I highly recommend buying the book as it is a resource you will refer to often. DH went from an a1C of 11 (scary high) to an a1C of 5.5 (near normal) when he started eating low-carb. The old doctor was amazed. We eventually fired her!
    http://diabetes-book.com/readit.shtml

    I hope you can find a low-carb friendly endo. DH’s first diabetes doctor was the proverbial nightmare. He has a new doctor that we just LOVE and is low-carb, real food friendly. We found her by total accident. This blog is one that Jimmy Moore runs that features low-carb friendly doctors. Maybe you can find one in your area.
    http://lowcarbdoctors.blogspot.com/

    There was a study done awhile back that intermittent fasting (IF) and low-carb are beneficial to diabetics, so you are on the right track! IF is skipping a meal or two a day, not going several days without eating, so this is doable for most people..
    http://www.dietdoctor.com/new-study-low-carb-diet-intermittent-fasting-beneficial-diabetics

    I sure hope you find some answers soon. I am available if you ever need to talk. (((hugs)))

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bethany Post author

      Yes!! I was just reading about 1.5 yeaterday! Apparently diabetes has a spectrum, like autism?

      Great news about your husband. I will check out that book!

      Ill also look into intermittant fasting. I know im probably overreacting, but i felt so sad thinking of it being type 1… Being skinny and diabetic makes you twice as likely to die from diabetes too. Ketoacidosis could one day be a real concern for me. Ill be researching this to death, i guarantee it.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Wendy McCullough

        Diabetes is usually recognized as either T1 or T2 or gestational diabetes, but technically there are probably 200 different variations of the disease. Crazy, huh?

        The strange thing about 1.5 is that it behaves like type 1 and type 2, so that can make it a bit challenging to diagnose. Also, you can have a honeymoon period of up to 10 years of where your pancreas is still producing some insulin. My DH is still in his honeymoon phase. Due to the beta cells still functioning, this decreases the risk of DKA.

        DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) is only a concern when there is complete absence of insulin in the body and high blood glucose levels, usually 300 and up. Just mentioning that because if you are doing a ketogenic diet and keeping your blood glucose within normal ranges, then DKA should not be a concern.

        However I am only an educated layperson and am not a doctor and do not play one on tv. 🙂

        I don’t know if you remember Addie Haynes from the Pregnant Atkids facebook group, but she is a type 1.5 and a great resource for info. If you are still in the Atkids group (I no longer am) I would suggest reaching out to her for support.

        Like

      2. Bethany Post author

        I need you to be my personal reference guide from now on. You might not be a doctor, but you seem to know more than all ive come across. I would be happy to talk to your friend!

        Like

      1. Wendy McCullough

        You’re very welcome! And thank you for the kind words. 🙂 I had to learn out of necessity, since I am the one who makes the meals and DH really doesn’t take the time to educate himself (you know how guys can be sometimes.) I pretty much had to learn on my own since the phrase type 1 tends to scare a lot of people. Which is why I am recommending Dr. Bernstein’s book to you. His info is great for T1s and T2s alike, but he himself is a type 1. His own personal story is fascinating; he did a podcast for Jimmy Moore once. You will have to check it out. I will PM you with Addy’s info. I don’t talk to her regularly but I know she would be a great help to you.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts!

